Jump to Navigation

Lahontan Regional Water Quality Control Board

The primary responsibility for the protection of water quality in California rests with the State Water Resources Control Board (State Board) and nine Regional Water Quality Control Boards. The State Board sets statewide policy for the implementation of state and federal laws and regulations. The Regional Boards adopt and implement Water Quality Control Plans (Basin Plans) which recognize regional differences in natural water quality, actual and potential beneficial uses, and water quality problems associated with human activities.

The jurisdiction of the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Lahontan Region (Regional Board) extends from the Oregon border to the northern Mojave Desert and includes all of California east of the Sierra Nevada crest. The name of the Region is derived from prehistoric Lake Lahontan, which once covered much of the State of Nevada. Most of the waters of the North Lahontan Basin drain into closed basins which were previously part of Lake Lahontan. Waters of the South Lahontan Basin also drain into closed basin remnants of prehistoric lakes.

The Lahontan Regional Board is a nine-member decision making body appointed by the Governor. The Board holds regular meetings, typically monthly at different sites throughout the Region. Its day-to-day work is carried out by a technical and administrative support civil service staff under an Executive Officer appointed by the Board. There are two Regional Board offices, at South Lake Tahoe and Victorville.